“Words”

Laura Clayton, January 2016

Oh words, let me bend you, and oh phrases let me mend you.

I long to make you say what I feel- It’s as if I’m trapped inside your meaning.

If I were to punctuate the sentences I penned you into, it wouldn’t satisfy.

Questions, exclamations, and long pauses would smudge together and end some lines of my life.

Oh words, let me tell you of the questions; reassure you of the worries in my pages.

I ache to know their answers, and escape my question marks.

If I were to tell you of all the questions, it would only tire you.

Questions could fill every page and end every sentence, but oh how they could not contain the depth of the story.

Oh words, let me delight you, oh lines let me invite you.

I long to tell you of the exclamations found in the careful arrangement and pattern of your words.

If I were to describe the value of the joy I have found in words, no sum could do it justice.

Many exclamations would be present, inked skillfully between thoughts, but each one would exist because of one Word.

Oh words, let me warn you of the pauses and breaks in my pages.

I hope to convince you of their purpose, for I fear you’ll only find them pointless.

If I were to go on about them, I think it still wouldn’t do, for you haven’t read them.

Long pauses lie in some of my greatest lines, pleading with me to rest and trust-only heaven knows what’s coming next.

Oh words, let me bend you, and oh phrases let me mend you.

I long to make you say what I feel- It’s as if I’m trapped inside your meaning…

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

