“The Goal of Perfection”

I pictured walking with Jesus last night. I imagined Him holding my hand, and I wondered of His face. I thought through my frustrations with the day and with myself. I thought, ‘Oh, if I was just with Jesus I could ask Him to “fix me”, make me  better-more pleasing to Him.’

Then I caught myself, really He caught me. Perfection, if taken too far, can be an attempt to be my own God-to be self sufficient. Jesus took on perfection and won because I couldn’t. When I constantly try to “fix myself” and do better on my own it potentially exposes some negative things about what I’m letting myself believe:

-I believe I have to earn (or even can earn) God’s approval, acceptance, and Love. Ephesians 2 addresses it this way,

 “But God, being rich in mercy, because of the great love with which he loved us,  even when we were dead in our trespasses, made us alive together with Christ—by grace you have been saved—  and raised us up with him and seated us with him in the heavenly places in Christ Jesus, so that in the coming ages he might show the immeasurable riches of his grace in kindness toward us in Christ Jesus. For by grace you have been saved through faith. And this is not your own doing; it is the gift of God,  not a result of works, so that no one may boast.  For we are his workmanship,created in Christ Jesus for good works, which God prepared beforehand, that we should walk in them.”

-I doubt His promises.

HE will complete the good work He began for His purpose. He gives the desire and the power to serve Him and live by the Spirit (Philippians 2:13). I must believe that He’s trustworthy and a GOOD Father like He says He is and shows Himself to be! (Psalm 145:8-9, 1 John 1:5, Psalm 138:8, Psalm 100:5, **Psalm 37:23-24).

-I believe self improvement and Perfection is the goal.

Oh, how I am so easily distracted! Jesus lived and died the Perfect life for me (and you) so that I in my own strength don’t have to be perfect to know Him. *That’s the goal-knowing Jesus.* It’s much easier to walk close to someone and begin to pick up their habits and traits if you spend time just knowing them. When I make perfection my goal, it becomes what controls and defines me, not Christ. (Psalm 73:28, Psalm 16).

Someone said to me recently, “when you try to be perfect all the time, you can’t  be free to be yourself or let others see who you really are.” Because, I’m. Not. Perfect. It’s just a facade. Now, that’s not to say I shouldn’t strive for excellence in all I do. But, excellence is doing something to the best of my ability; not focusing on if it was the very best and perfect way out there. To be human is to be broken and make mistakes too, and I’m learning that’s okay.

I find myself when I lose myself in Christ. When I find Him, He teaches me who I am.

I hope these thoughts encourage you as you focus on knowing Jesus the One who is Perfect, instead of  perfection. Enjoy your journey!

Laura Beth

Victorious Spirit

Leave a Reply

