“To Whom It May Concern”

Below is a poem I wrote the summer of 2013. I was hopeful about the possibility of having someone who would invest in me and I in them, but at the same time I wasn’t sure I was ready for it. Through this poem I attempted to capture my conflicting feelings and what Jesus was telling me through it all. Hope it is an encouragement!

sk-801

“I see footprints through the morning dew…

And I must say, darling, it reminds me of you.

A new beginning with only one path,

Earth and sky using sunlight for a bath.

As I breathe in the fresh morning air,

I dream of the love we’ll someday share.

The birds merrily sing songs that declare

The beauty that will be – yet warn me to prepare.

Yes, prepare for the day and diligently keep my heart.

Not to be carried away or even given freely on my part.

But, I am to joyfully greet each day with a song.

To heed the sky’s reminder that it is to Him I belong.

And as the grass will again become wet with dew,

So my face will be with tears when I see footprints leading to you.

So I ask you to seek His face and His commands,

And someday my dear, we’ll walk hand in hand.”

Leave a Reply

