“To Whom It May Concern” (Letter 2)

grizzlybear_trails

Below is a poem very similar to the first one I posted, only it was written this summer…under completely different circumstances. In writing this (and really all summer long) the Lord was (and still is) teaching me the treasure of His presence and relationship in the midst of hardship and loneliness. For that I am so very thankful. It is my prayer that you are inspired as well.

“I saw footprints blaze a trail through the morning dew,

Once again, darling, I started looking, hoping for you,

Only, this path was different from the last,

It was lonely, long, and unlike the hopeful past,

The prints continued but seemed sluggish and wide spaced,

One set in front of the next, yet they lacked fast pace,

As the others had been bathed in light,

It felt as though these were flooded in night,

I thought all at once I might burst; simply run,

But then I looked up and there shone the SON,

Ever steady and true,

It pleaded with me to hope anew,

Overwhelmed by its brilliance and heat,

It seemed to whisper to me, “Don’t worry whose feet,

Though the path seem long and unpleasant at times,

Remember, the Poet uses even long rhymes.”

I smiled at the SON again, delighting in its heat,

Now I know its preparing me for when paths meet…”

Leave a Reply

